CPH Dean Williams Elected Chair of Georgia Department of Public Health

Dean Phillip L. Williams, University of Georgia College of Public Health, has been elected to serve a one-year term as chair of the state Board of Public Health, which oversees the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH).

DPH is the lead department charged with the ultimate responsibility for the health of Georgia’s communities and the entire population. At the state level, DPH is divided into numerous branches, sections, programs and offices, and at the local level, DPH functions through 18 health districts and 159 county health departments.

Dean Williams was appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal as an inaugural member of the board in 2011. He was reappointed for a three-year term in 2014 and has served as vice chair for the past two years. He succeeds Dr. Kathryn Cheek, pediatrician and former president of the Georgia chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (GAAAP), as chair of the board. Other prominent members include Dr. James Curran, dean of the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University, and John Haupert, president and CEO of Grady Health System.

Dean Williams is the founding dean of the UGA College of Public Health and also holds the Georgia Power Professorship of Environmental Health Science in the College’s department of environmental health science.

Posted August 27, 2015.