Institute student recognition ceremony celebrates gerontology students

On Tuesday May 3, the UGA Institute of Gerontology held its annual Student Recognition Ceremony. Everyone gathered to recognize the outstanding achievements of graduating gerontology students, and IOG faculty member Dr. Heidi Ewen inducted the newest members of Sigma Phi Omega, the national gerontology honors society.

The Institute was honored to have Eve Anthony as the keynote speaker at the event. Eve is the CEO and COO of the Athens Community Council on Aging, and gave a wonderful and inspiring talk about working in the field of aging.

The “Outstanding Gerontology Graduate Student Award” was presented to Jackie Tachmann. She received this award for her excellence in scholarship and her active engagement in the community.

The faculty and staff at the Institute are truly proud of all the graduates and wish them all the success as they embark on their own careers in aging!

The following students were inducted into SPO:

Ehiremen Azugbene

Desia Lanae Smith

Shatrela Washington-Hubbard

The following students received their graduate certificates in gerontology:

Desia Lanae Smith

Kay Graham

Carolyn Ceto

Carly Farrell

Whitney Bignell

Lindsay Prizer

Posted May 4, 2016.