UGA Student Government Association honors 14 faculty members

he University of Georgia Student Government Association celebrated the work of 14 faculty members during its annual Professor Recognition Banquet on March 1 at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education Conference Center and Hotel.

Faculty members honored and their disciplines are:

Mitos Andaya
Doug Anderson
Daniel DerVartanian
Bill Graves
Tina Harris
Katie Hein
Joseph Hermanowicw
Doug Jackson
William Kisaalita
Anne Marie Zimeri
Christopher Pisarik
Christopher Pizzino
Brock Tessman
Michael Yabsley
Animal and Dairy Science
Communication Studies
Health Promotion
Environmental Health Science
Division of Academic Enhancement
Public and International Affairs
Forestry and Natural Resources
The faculty members were selected from 45 nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, the students of SGA’s academic affairs committee selected honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students.

Jan Davis Barham, associate dean of students and director of the Tate Student Center, said SGA recognizes the importance of honoring faculty members who are going the extra mile in contributing to student success and development.

“Faculty members are accustomed to being honored by their peers, but SGA wanted to provide an outlet through which outstanding faculty could be celebrated by the very students on whom they are having so much impact,” she said.

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA’s division student affairs. For more information, call 706/542-6396 or see

– Don Reagin

Posted March 8, 2012.