Williams receives Georgia Giants in Public Health honor

Phillip L. Williams, dean of the University of Georgia College of Public Health, was one of 15 public health leaders from Georgia honored by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO), a national nonprofit organization representing public health agencies in the United States, the U.S. Territories, and the District of Columbia, and over 100,000 public health professionals these agencies employ.

Dean Williams and each of the “Georgia Giants in Public Health” honorees were recognized for their leadership and dedication to improving the lives and well-being of not just communities in Georgia, but across the nation and around the world. The Georgia’s Giants in Public Health awards, part of ASTHO’s 75th anniversary celebration, honor transformational state and territorial government leaders and alumni, along with those working at the federal level and with non-governmental organizations to protect and promote our nation’s health.

The Georgia Giants in Public Health honorees were:

  • Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter
  • Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter
  • James W. Curran, MD, MPH, dean, Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University
  • Michael P. Eriksen, ScD, dean, School of Public Health, Georgia State University
  • Brenda Fitzgerald, MD, commissioner, Georgia Department of Public Health
  • William H. Foege, MD, MPH, senior fellow in health policy, The Carter Center
  • Tom Frieden, MD, MPH, former director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Jeffrey P. Koplan, MD, MPH, vice president for global health, Emory University
  • Judith Monroe, MD, president and CEO, CDC Foundation
  • Gary Nelson, PhD, president, Healthcare Georgia Foundation
  • David A. Ross, ScD, president and CEO, Task Force for Global Health
  • David Satcher, MD, PhD, founding director and senior advisor, Satcher Health Leadership Institute, Morehouse School of Medicine
  • C. Wade Sellers, MD, MPH, district health director for the Northwest Health District, Georgia Department of Public Health
  • Louis W. Sullivan, MD, chairman and CEO, Sullivan Alliance to Transform Health Professions
  • Phillip L. Williams, PhD, dean, College of Public Health, University of Georgia

The event acknowledged the important role that the state of Georgia and the City of Atlanta have played in advancing public health knowledge and training in the U.S. and around the globe. The CDC Foundation and Healthcare Georgia Foundation served as sponsors of the June 15 event, which was hosted by Emory University’s Rollins School of Public Health.

The ASTHO award news announcement can be found here: https://www.astho.org/Press-Room/ASTHO-Recognizes-Georgia%E2%80%99s-Public-Health-Champions/

Posted June 19, 2017.