The UGA College of Public Health award programs were established to recognized CPH faculty and staff and their exceptional contributions to fostering the College’s mission to advance the health of all through research, hands-on learning, and community engagement.

Faculty Excellence Awards – Teaching, Research, Service | Staff Recognition Awards

CPH Faculty Excellence Awards in Teaching, Research & Service


All full-time faculty members who have been at the CPH for at least 3 years are eligible. Previous award winners must wait a minimum of 5 years before being considered again.

Who Can Nominate?

Any member of the CPH community can nominate a faculty member for this award. Self-nominations are permitted. Members of the Awards Committee will recuse themselves from voting and discussion for that award if they are nominated.

Procedure for Nominating a Faculty Member

To nominate a faculty member, complete the appropriate Qualtrics survey with the following information: name and department of nominator, name and department of nominee, and reason for nomination.

Nominations will be accepted through February 1, 2023.

Once notified by the Dean’s Office, nominees should submit additional evidence of teaching, research, or service excellence to [email protected].

This will include: 1) an updated CV 2) a personal statement (1 page max) and 3) optional 1-2 letters of support (from faculty or students).

Note: The selection committee reserves the right not to make an award.

CPH Excellence in Teaching Award

Selection Process

The CPH Awards Committee will select recipients based on the following criteria:

  • Evidence of consistent excellence in teaching;
  • Evidence of innovative, rigorous, and engaging pedagogy
  • Demonstrates efforts at incorporating DEI considerations into pedagogy Note: The selection committee reserves the right not to make an award.

Submit Nomination Here

Previous Recipients
  • 2016 – Phaedra Corso – HPAM
  • 2017 – Anne Marie Zimeri – EHS
  • 2018 – Kerstin Gerst Emerson – GRNT/HPAM
  • 2019 – Grace Bagwell Adams – HPAM
  • 2020 – Chrissy Proctor – HPB
  • 2021 – Rebecca Wells – HPB
  • 2022 – Jessica Knight – EPIBIO

CPH Excellence in Research Award

Selection Process

The CPH Awards Committee will select recipients based on the following criteria:

  • Research performed by the nominee, with an emphasis on research performed while at the University of Georgia
  • Impact of the research on the discipline
  • Creativity in research, rather than basing the award solely on quantities of publications or amounts funded

Submit Nomination Here

Previous Recipients
  • 2016 – Mark Wilson – HPB
  • 2017 – Marsha Davis – HPB
  • 2020 – José Cordero – EPIBIO
  • 2021 – Stacy Zhang – HPAM
  • 2022 – Travis Glenn – EHS

2023 CPH Excellence in Service Award

Selection Process

The CPH Award Committee will select recipients based on any combination of the following criteria:

  • Community service: expanding students’ learning experience, establishing community/practice partnerships, and generating activity that will improve the health status of a specific community or population
  • Professional service and leadership in appropriate organizations
  • Service within the university, college, or department

Submit Nomination Here

Previous Recipients
  • 2016 – Katie Hein – HPB
  • 2017 – Jessica Muilenburg – HPB
  • 2018 – Grace Bagwell Adams – HPAM
  • 2020 – Kerstin Gerst Emerson – GRNT/HPAM
  • 2021 – Pamela Orpinas – HPB
  • 2022 – Erin Lipp – EHS

CPH Staff Recognition Awards

The UGA College of Public Health’s annual Staff Awards recognize exceptional staff members who have gone above and beyond their duties to contribute to CPH’s quality and excellence, through excellent customer service, stellar student support and peer mentorship, and contributions to creating a diverse, inclusive workplace. Award recipients will receive a certificate and monetary award and will be recognized during our College Honors Week and end-of-year Faculty/Staff Meeting. Nominees will be considered for the following awards:

  • CPH Outstanding Staff Award
  • CPH Staff DEI Leadership Award (new for 2023!)
  • Nominees must be employed by the College of Public Health full-time for one year prior to the deadline for submitting nominations.
  • Nominees must not have received the award within the past five years; or currently serve as a member of the CPH Staff Advisory Council.

Nominees are evaluated on the following qualities:

  • Builds Community – Promotes a sense of community by bringing groups/individuals together for a common purpose.
  • Promotes Diversity, Equity & Inclusion – Welcomes and values diversity of opinions in discussions, demonstrates tolerance of others, considers accessibility, diversity and inclusivity in aspects of job assignments, enhances the campus climate, adheres to respectful workplace expectations. (NOTE: Exceptional nominees in this area will be considered for the CPH Staff DEI Leadership Award.)
  • Demonstrates Leadership Qualities Provides on-going high-quality performance, directs people to resources, sees work assignments from a big picture point-of-view, seeks to improve operations, handles difficult situations and assignments well, personifies dependability. (NOTE: Nominee does not have to hold a supervisory position to exemplify these qualities.)
  • Exemplifies Mission – Embodies the CPH mission statement, purpose, vision and values, advances the priorities of their unit and department through completion of work assignments, recognizes their role in achieving College goals, motivated by the university’s pursuit of being a comprehensive public research university committee dedicated exceptional teaching, research, and outreach.
Nomination Procedure
  • CPH staff, faculty and students may nominate a staff member.
  • The online nomination form must be submitted from someone other than the nominee.
  • Deadline for submitting a nomination is February 24.

Submit Nominations Here

Review and Selection Process

Nominees are evaluated by the CPH Staff Advisory Council and a subcommittee of past CPH Staff Award winners. Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

Previous Outstanding Staff Award Recipients
  • 2012 – Tina Duvall Supakorndej (Dean’s Office)
  • 2013 – Noel “Trey” Nihoul (HPAM)
  • 2014 – Haoguang Liu (EHS)
  • 2016 – Heather McEachern (Academic Affairs)
  • 2017 – Anita Holmes (GERON)
  • 2018 – Linda Moak (Outreach)
  • 2020 – Erika Schwabe (Research)
  • 2021 – Becky Ayer (Communications)
  • 2022 – Carmen Parr (Business Office)